Letters to Donna: Pulled Back In

Just a few minutes ago, my overbearing (in a good way) boss dragged me back to work giving me a piece of paper that can secure my safety. Like I said in my last post, dependent expatriates, especially expat daughters, aren’t allowed to work. So anyway, hours after my post, I received a notification (which was from my relentless refreshing of the Ministry of Labor‘s website) that my application for transfer was approved, which was good news as far as my need to continue being employed. I only need to wait for the process to be finished: approval from the Jawazat, receiving my new iqama which should be under the sponsorship of my employer.

According to our HR, those of us whose sponsorships are not transferred yet, should not come to work and should wait for their notification to come back to work. Those of us who are currently being processed should have their “muqeems” (document stating our iqamas are being finalized, roughly speaking it can serve as temporary iqama) with them at all times.

The document that I received isn’t a muqeem. It’s a letter from the MOL addressed to the Jawazat office stating that it has been approved from their (MOL’s) side and that to proceed with the next step. If you as me, this isn’t enough to make me feel safe. But, my boss assured me that it’s legit and that it’s enough to secure me. I was like “Okaaay.” I was going to object one more time when she added that she already clarified things with our head honcho and the other bigwigs that the document that I have is enough. She saw I was still hesitant and gave me one of her “Seriously?” looks and said “Do you really think I’d let you come back to work without assuring your safety?” I was a little touched with her concern until she added “Let me rephrase, do you really think I would hold myself or the company liable for allowing someone who is unsecured to work here? Louise, please try to think. Your doubts are misplaced.”

Needless to say, I couldn’t say anything more. She did have a point, she knows the penalties for harboring or allowing an illegal or dependent to work (a staggering 100,000 SR or 1M pesos… each). So why would they risk letting me back in if I wasn’t in the clear? For now, I just complied. Though I didn’t wear my uniform and wore my comfiest Converse shoes in case I need to make an unexpected exit.

To be honest, I was looking forward to not going to work for a while. I didn’t mind waiting for the go signal from HR. But my boss really needed her team back so she really pushed for our papers. I’m thankful though that I’m still employed.

I really miss you guys and I hope you are doing okay.

 

One thought on “Letters to Donna: Pulled Back In

  1. yay! cheers! beer or whatever imitation of alcohol you have over there!

    “Though I didnโ€™t wear my uniform and wore my comfiest Converse shoes in case I need to make an unexpected exit.” wow. the way you acted is so… un-legit. haha. but glad you’re fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

