Being prepared

… is what I am not doing right now for the upcoming storm. This is why I paid for cable, to watch the news and yet Nickelodeon and Disney Channel (there are still some good in them!) seem to entice me more since I have the attention span of a bowl of cookies. News says that the storm will hit/pass by Iloilo this Wednesday (which is tomorrow, T_T ).

ImageTomorrow night: Hurricane conditions possible. Very windy with scattered thunderstorms. Low 76F. Winds ENE at 60 to 80 mph. Chance of rain 60%. Rainfall possibly over one inch.

(http://weather.yahoo.com/philippines/western-visayas/iloilo-2346685/)

Oh what to do, what to do… what else? Prepare emergency kits! (Better late than never!)

I already have our backpacks (one for each of us: my sister, Aladdin, and me) packed with some clothes, a liter of water, our documents, extra slippers, matches, and a blanket. I just need to go to the supermarket and buy some batteries, candles, some medicine, non-perishable food, and first aid kit. Our gadgets are already charging away in case of black outs (Oh Technology, you are my best friend!). I hope I didn’t forget anything important. Also, I listed Iloilo’s “hotlines”, juuuuust in case (iloiloilove.com).

Iloilo City Emergency Services

Fire Department:
Iloilo City: 337-3011 / 337-4989
Jaro: 329-5700

DILG Emergency Hotline: 117

Police Emergency Assistance: 166

Iloilo City Emergency Responders : (63-33) 335-1554

Iloilo City Hospitals

Iloilo Doctors Hospital
West Timava Avenue, Molo, Iloilo
(63-33) 377-7702

Iloilo Mission Hospital
Mission Road, Jaro, Iloilo
(63-33) 320-0315

St. Paul’s Hospital
Gen. Luna Street, Iloilo
(63-33) 337-2741

West Visayas State University Medical Center
E. Lopez Street, Jaro, Iloilo
(63-33) 329-3744

Western Visayas Medical Center
Q. Abeto Street, Mandurriao, Iloilo
(63-33) 321-2841

I am indulging my parents who are worried sick in Jeddah for our safety here in Iloilo. Who can blame them? Its better to be safe than sorry, my mother’s favorite line.

Here’s to hoping that “Pablo” won’t be as bitchy as the weather expects it to be. Stay safe everyone!

Leave a Reply

